Skip to main content

Online Banking

Enroll Now | Forgot Password

Routing #: 304982196


CU Expands Membership Area

Sep 13, 2019, 14:17 PM
Columbus United FCU Expands Field of Membership

Columbus United Federal Credit Union has obtained regulatory approval to expand its Field of Membership.  Until this most recent approval, the credit union served a five county area.  Effective immediately, the credit union is approved to serve the following counties in northeast Nebraska: Platte, Madison, Colfax, Butler, Polk, Nance, Merrick, Boone, Antelope, Wayne, Stanton, Cuming, Dodge, Pierce and Saunders.  The expansion means that persons who live, work, worship, volunteer or attend school in the fifteen county area may join the credit union.  Membership also applies to businesses and other legal entities in the counties as well as organizations of qualifying persons.

According to Brian Christensen, President of the institution, “Columbus United is excited to add to the economic development of northeast Nebraska. Giving consumers the choice to bank at a credit union gives them an opportunity to experience the credit union difference, where all members are owners of the institution.”     

Because of the commitment of its members and its designation as a community financial institution, the Board of Directors felt that expanding its Field of Membership was the logical next step in the future of the credit union.  Since it began in 1949 as the Behlen Credit Union, the institution has grown steadily.  It is that steady growth that has formed the base for an expanded reach.  Dan Fuchs, Chairman of the Board said, “the loyalty and resulting level of support we receive from our members has always been the key to our success and we expect that to continue as others in the community discover the benefits of banking at a credit union”.

About Columbus United Federal Credit Union - Columbus United Federal Credit Union is a full service financial institution that has approximately 7800 members and $62 million in assets and operates two branches in Columbus. Deposits are Federally insured by the National Credit Union Administration.